Midnight on Beacon Street by Emily Ruth Verona

Book #17 in 2024
1.5 out of 5 (photo from Goodreads)

Meh. I was really tempted to give this one star but the nostalgia for the 80s and 90s made me add half a star. It’s a nice nod in theory to horror/slasher movies from decades ago through mention of a variety of movies. There’s a babysitter in a home when strange phone calls start happening. People who shouldn’t be there show up. There ends up being a dead body in the kitchen.

The elements are there but the execution is not. Thankfully this was a short book so I didn’t have to suffer for too long. It didn’t feel like a thriller. It read like a young adult book – a poorly written one at that since there are some young adult books that I’ve enjoyed.

I don’t even care enough about this book to write about the characters and plot or any spoilers. Definite miss for me.

This entry was posted in 2024, Books, Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment